Open Hours of City Government Mon - Fri: 8.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.

City Council


Serving the West Plains community through innovation and excellence.


The City of West Plains will provide high-quality services through operational excellence, enhancing quality of life and creating a model community people are proud to call home. For the City of West Plains’ five-year strategic plan, please click here  

City Government

The City of West Plains operates under a Home Rule City Charter, adopted by the citizens in 2014 and voters approved amendments in 2020. It provides for a Council/Manager form of government. The city is governed by a City Council comprised of the Mayor and four Council members, who serve four-year terms. All Council members are voted on by qualified voters of the city.

Click here for this month’s City Council meeting agenda

Click here to stream City Council meetings

City Council Meeting Archives

City Charter

City Code Book

City Budget FY22

Utility Budget FY22

Capital Projects & Vehicles FY22 

Individual Budgets FY22

City Budget FY21

Utility Budget FY21

City Budget FY20

Utility Budget FY20

City of West Plains Children’s Park Proposal

City Council

Mayor Jack Pahlmann was first elected to the City Council in 2000 and was appointed Mayor Pro Tem in 2003. He was subsequently re-elected in 2004, 2008, 2012, 2015, and 2019. He was appointed Mayor in August 2012 upon the death of his predecessor and was re-elected Mayor in 2019. Mayor Pahlmann can be reached by calling 417-256-7176, or by e-mail at

Mayor Pro-Tem Mike Topliff was elected in 2013 to a four-year term. His term will expire in April 2021, Mike can be reached by email at

Councilman Johnny Murrell was elected in 2020. His term will expire in April 2024. Johnny can be reached by e-mail at

Councilman Josh Cotter was elected in 2015 and again in 2019 to a four-year term. His term will expire in April 2023. Josh can be reached by email at

Councilwoman Jessica Nease was appointed to the City Council in 2018 and elected to a three-year term in 2019. Her term will expire in April 2022. Jessica can be reached by e-mail at

City Tax Rate

State sales tax4.225%
City general1.0%
City transportation.5%
City capital improvements.5%
County general1.0%
County law.25%
County 911.1875
Ambulance District.5%
Total          8.162%

Citizen Boards

Another important part of the city’s government process is the involvement of citizen boards. City Council appoints citizens to these boards as yet another attempt to involve the community in the decision making process. These board members make important recommendations to the City Council after studying the facts. Please contact us at City Hall at 417-256-7176 about any issue relating to these boards, which are listed below:

  • Board of Adjustments
  • Board of City Pride
  • Civic Center Board
  • Community Improvement Districts
  • Electrical Board
  • Galloway Creek Advisory Board
  • Housing Authority
  • Improvement Authority Board
  • Industrial Development
  • Land Clearance for Redevelopment
  • LEBG Advisory Board
  • Park Board
  • Planning Commission
  • TIF Commission
  • Tourist Development Council